Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Quick video tutorial: How to add decals to a mohaa map

  1. #1

  2. #2
    Junior Member mcunha98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Curitiba / PR - Brasil
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Zappa

    But the doubt is how do it on editor ?
    screenshot-712.png

    For example,
    - first brush has nodraw texture and alpha texture
    - second brush was placed into the wall, but not render correctly (as you did via script on video)

  3. #3

    Default

    Is not possible to add decals from the editor. Only from in-game after the map is already finished.

    From the editor you can only place a plane in front of a wall but it would look bad

  4. #4
    Junior Member mcunha98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    Curitiba / PR - Brasil
    Posts
    11

    Default

    What a shame...
    In cod I confess, is the biggest feature that I liked (decals , terrain editor and prefab as object)

  5. #5
    Client Beta Testers Appelpitje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Nice job zappa!

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcunha98 View Post
    Zappa

    But the doubt is how do it on editor ?
    screenshot-712.png

    For example,
    - first brush has nodraw texture and alpha texture
    - second brush was placed into the wall, but not render correctly (as you did via script on video)
    Yeah, z-fighting is what you will get if both surfaces are on the same plane. Even though you shouldn't get it with decals as their polygons are offset, you can actually sometimes still get z-fighting, which I have experienced in the past, so I tend to use r_offsetunits of -45 to alleviate that issue.

    It's also worth mentioning that you can add custom decals to the in-game menu shown in the video by modifying the ui/decals.URC file and adding your own shaders to the "decals list". Just add: additem "shader_name_here" to the list.

    An example of a decal shader definition would be:


    shader_name_here
    {
    polygonOffset
    surfaceparm paper
    cull none
    {
    clampmap textures/decals/some_texture.tga
    blendfunc blend
    alphagen vertex
    rgbgen vertex
    }
    }


    Edit: Oh, and another thing to be wary, is that because decals duplicate the geometry they are placed over (they assume its shape), placing them over complex geometry like bezier patches and terrain can sometimes create an overabundance of debug lines (the lines you see in-game when you have a decal selected). This can sometimes cause MAX_DEBUG_LINES to be hit, spamming the console and causing your game to chug. This is only an issue when you are in edit mode and have that specific decal selected, but if you still want to keep it and can't manipulate it easily, you can temporarily turn off dcl_showcurrent.
    Last edited by 1337Smithy; May 30th, 2021 at 02:10 AM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mcunha98 View Post
    Zappa

    But the doubt is how do it on editor ?
    screenshot-712.png

    For example,
    - first brush has nodraw texture and alpha texture
    - second brush was placed into the wall, but not render correctly (as you did via script on video)
    You can check this out. A year later.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •