Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Run Multiple Instances of MOHSH on the Same Machine

  1. #1
    Senior Member Major A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    110

    Default Run Multiple Instances of MOHSH on the Same Machine

    I found the AA version here https://www.x-null.net/forums/showth...multiple+mohaa

    but is there an SH version?

    ASUS P8B75-M * Quadcore 3.1GHz * 32GB ram * GT740 4GB video * Logitech USB Marble Mouse=Trackball * System - ArchLinux-EndeavourOS, KDE Plasma Desktop * Triple monitor

  2. #2

    Default

    MOHAA creates a Mutex object and check its presence to prevent the game from being opened twice :
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mutant.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	29.3 KB 
ID:	1857

    You can search for the mutex string in the executable and fill it with 0x00 hex values (null-terminated C-string). If it doesn't work, and if you have some knowledge with disassembly, you can search for subsequent calls to CreateMutex/GetLastError, and fills condition instructions below the call with 0x90 (NOPs) like :


    mov eax, off_mutex_name ; "Medal of Honor ..."
    mov ecx, 1
    xor ebx, ebx
    push eax ; Mutex name
    push ecx ; bInitialOwner
    push ebx ; Security attributes
    call CreateMutexA ; This is basically CreateMutexA(NULL, TRUE, "Medal of Honor ...")
    mov hMutex, eax ; set the global hMutex variable
    call GetLastError
    cmp eax, 0x87 ; Check if the last error set by CreateMutex is 0x87 (ERROR_ALREADY_EXISTS)
    jz _retlabel ; if 0, return from the main function (and exit)


    Then from there you just have to replace cmp and jz with nop instruction... Of course it will require knowledge in disassembling the binary :P

  3. #3
    Administrator James's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    on the intraweb
    Posts
    3,180

    Default

    If you need help, upload the SH binary and the system86 file associated with that file and I or one of the other devs can make the change.

  4. #4
    Developer RyBack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    In Front of the screen
    Posts
    1,603

    Default

    I did that for sh and bt before.
    Binaries are with double kill i think.

  5. #5

    Default

    i wonder if it's possible to add few extra changes to the binaries
    like to be able to move the game to the background with Alt+Tab like other games do
    and to prevent the mouse to run out of the game when playing in window mode.

  6. #6

    Default

    Here they are:

    I have put inside for the 3 games.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Administrator James's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    on the intraweb
    Posts
    3,180

    Default

    I stuck the tread so it's easier to find. Thanks for the share!

  8. #8
    Senior Member Ancient Order's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Paris, Fr.
    Posts
    256

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleKill View Post
    Here they are:

    I have put inside for the 3 games.
    Sweet, thanks! Ry' too.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Major A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Oh wow, thankyou!

    A question though,
    is this all this does, or do they have any other patches built in like pak radar and what not?
    I ask bc if it's only multiple instance, it would depend on which install I change.

    ASUS P8B75-M * Quadcore 3.1GHz * 32GB ram * GT740 4GB video * Logitech USB Marble Mouse=Trackball * System - ArchLinux-EndeavourOS, KDE Plasma Desktop * Triple monitor

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Major A View Post
    Oh wow, thankyou!

    A question though,
    is this all this does, or do they have any other patches built in like pak radar and what not?
    I ask bc if it's only multiple instance, it would depend on which install I change.
    They are the default exe files from the games. Nothing new on them

    PakRadar still works with the game because he uses his own dll file unless you still using the old version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •