Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Network Automation using Python & Ansible

Default Network Automation using Python & Ansible

Hello,

Guys I am a Network Engineer and been working on many multi vendor equipments for years. Now a days alot of buzz is around regarding automation using Python and Ansible, hence this post.

My confusion is that why we would do Network automation using Python? When Python is written in C / C++ and is an interpreted language not a compiled one which makes it horribly slow while executing iterated tasks (like "for" loops). I've skimmed through some of Python tutorial vids on Youtube and although they are very informative if you want to learn Python, I could not realize why take all this pain to code to achieve something that you can do manually. Is it the idea that we write thousands of line of code once and then simply keep on executing it instead of doing manual configurations for each network element ? Can someone please give a practical example as to how Python would make network management efficient ?

For Ansible, please have a look at https://pynet.twb-tech.com/. A simple config backup routine warrants 100s of code lines which inherits coding errors and administrative overhead. Please suggest what I am missing in terms of efficiency while using Python / Ansible as network automation tools / techniques.

Thanks and regards,

whoa ? why use python ? c is there for ya, IDK alot about networks but there is a (HUGE) performance gap between c an pyhthon.
    The only advantage i could think of is easier to code. like you'd write way less in python than c to do the same task.
    What is automation ?? lol

Python is indeed easy to use and thats why it's used a lot, but indeed u also have other programming languages that are more performant, even Java is faster than Python in most cases.